The Homestead Refund is a rebate of a portion of the property taxes paid on a Kansas resident’s homestead. Your refund percentage is based on your total household income. If you own your home, the refund is a percentage of your general property tax. If you rent your home, 15% of the “rent paid occupancy” is used as the property tax amount. The maximum refund is $700.
Who may qualify?
- You must of been a Kansas resident for all of last year (2011)
- You must have a TOTAL household income of $31,200 or less
- You must also meet ONE of the following three requirements:
- Born prior to January 1, 1956 or
- Blind or totally and permanently disabled all of 2011 or
- Have a dependent who lived with you the entire year who was born before January 1, 2011, and was under the age of 18 all of 2011.
What is needed to file?
You must have the following information for EVERY PERSON in your household:
- Social Security Number (SSN)
- Date of Birth
You must have 2011 PROOF OF INCOME for EVERY PERSON in your household.
- Social Security, retirement, interest (1099s)
- SSI statements
- Any SRS information (TAF, Food Stamps, cash assistance)
- W2′s (if applicable)
- If you have to file taxes, we need a copy of your prepared federal and state tax returns for 2011.
- If you qualified for an EIC (Earned Income Credit), you will need to bring your 2010 federal tax returns as well.
If you would like to have your refund directly deposited into your bank account, we will need your banking information;
Renters will need all their landlord/property owners contact information for each place you lived in 2011 as well as the amount of rent paid for each residence.
All household members’ personal information such as name, social security number and date of birth
For additional Homestead information, visit the Kansas Department of Revenue website.
Food Sales Tax Refund
Most Kansas residents who qualify for the Homestead refund also qualify for the Food Sales Tax refund. If you do not qualify for the Homestead refund you may still be eligible for the Food Sales Tax refund.
If your qualifying income is $17,500 or less, your food sales tax refund is $90 for each dependent in your household.
If your qualifying income is $17,501, but not over $35,000, your food sales tax refund is $45 for each dependent in your household
For additional Food Sales Tax informaion, visit the Kansas Department of Revenue website.
The Kansas Statutes authorize local governments to levy property taxes. In addition to cities, townships, counties, schools, and local governments; also included are special districts such as hospitals, fire, cemeteries, watershed and libraries, etc. The history of how property classifications were asset pre re-appraisal and changes to the classified rates as listed in the Property Taxation Statewide Document.