Lyon County Sheriff


Patrol is one of the core functions of the Lyon County Sheriff’s Office.  We have 12 deputies and 3 sergeants assigned to the patrol division.  The patrol division is responsible for responding to calls for service, traffic enforcement, crime suppression, and suspect apprehension.

Deputies are trained to perform specialized roles for the office.  There are patrol deputies on the SRT (Special Response Team), Clandestine Laboratory team, and bike patrol.  We also have in-house instructors for firearms, less-lethal munitions, taser, radar and Lidar, defensive tactics, and CPR.  All of the deputies are certified to operate the intoxilyzer test to determine breath alcohol content.


Lyon County has 33,339 residents and an area of 855 square miles which includes 1,500 miles of roadways.  We have Highway 56 and Highway 50 crossing the county east and west with Highway 99 north and south.  We also have portions of Interstate I-35 and the Kansas Turnpike (I-335).

Lyon County has 11 towns: Admire, Allen, Americus, Bushong, Emporia, Hartford, Miller, Neosho Rapids, Olpe, Plymouth, and Reading.  Emporia has a full-time police department and Americus has a part-time department.  The Lyon County Sheriff has contracts with Admire, Hartford, Neosho Rapids, and Olpe to enforce municipal ordinances as needed.