The Board of Lyon County Commissioners met in Action Session at 8:00 a.m. in the Commission Chambers with the following people in attendance:
Rollie Martin, Chairman                                                              Scott A. Briggs, Vice Chairman
Dan Slater, Commissioner                                                          Tammy Vopat, County Clerk
Marc Goodman, County Counselor                                            Dan Williams, County Controller
Michael Halleran, Asst. Co. Counselor

Others attending the meeting:
Dean Hollenbeck, FHTC                                                             Steve Loewen, FHTC
Viola Heskett, resident                                                                Doug Peck, resident
Mark McKenna, Facilities Manager                                             Jarom Smith, resident
Jim Witt, City of Emporia                                                             Chip Woods, County Engineer
Angel Cushing, resident                                                              Tagan Trahoon, KVOE reporter
Phill Mott, resident                                                                      Jamie Sauder, resident
Lillian Spellman, resident                                                            LeRoy Boline, resident
Dennis Darbyshire, resident                                                       Kevin Darbyshire, resident
Ron Bathurst, resident                                                                Kenny Hinch, resident
Preston Taylor, resident                                                              Tom Haag, resident
Harry Haag, resident                                                                    Allen Wilson, resident

Call to Order / Pledge of Allegiance

Motion: To Approve the Agenda as presented. Martin/Slater 3-0

Motion: To Approve the Minutes of the 6-18-2020 meeting. Briggs/Slater 3-0

Motion: To Approve Warrants Payable 6-26-2020 in the amount of $151,184.25. Briggs/Slater 3-0

Motion: To Approve Payroll Payable 6-26-2020 in the amount of $287,372.39.
Martin/Briggs 3-0

Motion: To Approve Payroll Withholdings Payable 6-26-2020 in the amount of $376,707.90. Martin/Slater 3-0

Appointments: Commissioners discussed board appointments.

Mark McKenna presented Commissioners with a request to consider additional costs for glass installation in the courthouse.

Motion: To Approve the additional costs from AAA Glass Service in the amount of $4,920.00 to be paid from Fund 017-00-9001. Martin/Briggs 3-0

Personnel changes: no action taken.

Permits: no applications received.

Commissioner Martin:
• On Monday I attended the Council on Aging meeting. The Americus Senior Center has closed.
• I attended a presentation to the Lyon County Highway Department for their state award.
• Received phone calls on road issues.

Commissioner Briggs:
• Attended the Road & Bridge award presentation.
• I attended several meetings yesterday related to CoVid and the Spark money.
• I worked with the Fair Board on upcoming events.

Commissioner Slater:
• No report.

Controller Williams:
• Working on budgets and Spark money.
• Sales tax numbers are consistent.

Clerk Vopat:
• Working on the election process which is going very well.

Counselor Goodman:
• Worked with Ruth Wheeler and Judge Wheeler on reworking signage.

Chip Woods presented Commissioners with a bid from precast concrete box culverts.

Motion: To Approve the low bod of Oldcastle Infrastructure for three (3) precast concrete box culverts in the amount of $76,767.18 to be paid from Fund 011-00-8353. Briggs/Martin 3-0

Dean Hollenbeck & Steve Loewen presented Commissioners with the 2021 budget for the Flint Hills Technical College.

Motion: To move to Legal Executive Session for confidential data with Commissioners, Jamie Sauder, Controller Williams, Counselor Halleran and Counselor Goodman, to return at 9:30 a.m.
Martin/Briggs 3-0
Meeting reconvened at 9:30 a.m.


Public comment: Doug Peck commented on the presentation for budget request from Flint Hills Technical College and supported the request. Angel Cushing commented on the entrance to the MFA business which is impacted by local zoning issues. Angel also presented a policy analysis for Commissioners to review. Tagan Trahoon commented on the SOS Strong Campaign to support SOS and offered an opportunity for everyone to participate personally.

Public Hearing for Minimum Maintenance Roads: Jim Brull explained the minimum maintenance of the roads. No changes will be made in the current maintenance of the roads other than signage indicating the road is a minimum maintenance road. LeRoy Boline presented pictures for Commissioners and discussed several roads that need to be looked at and repaired. Another resident discussed the same issue with roads not being maintained at a minimum. Alan Wilson discussed the signage being knocked down when large equipment is being moved. Perhaps change the sign structure. Theresa Donelson discussed the issues with maintaining the road at a minimum level. Steve Dewitt commented on signage placement and asked for an explanation of what is low/minimum maintenance. Kevin Darbyshire commented on the ditch condition and farming to the ditches.

Counselor Goodman noted that a resolution was not necessary to move forward with the minimum maintenance roads other than signage posted. Commissioners discussed several issues related to road conditions and procedures. Commissioner Slater commented on his support to post the signage. Commissioner Briggs commented on his support to post signage also. Commissioner Martin supported posting the signage for minimum maintenance roads.

Motion: To move to Legal Executive Session with Commissioners, Controller Williams, Counselor Halleran and Counselor Goodman, to return at 11:10 a.m.
Martin/Briggs 3-0
Meeting reconvened at 11:10 a.m.

Motion: To move to Legal Executive Session with Commissioners, Counselor Goodman, Controller Williams, Ashley McGee, Sam Seeley and Michael Halleran, to return at 12:00 p.m. Martin/Slater 3-0
Meeting reconvened at 12:00 p.m. with a request for an extension, to return at 12:15 p.m. Martin/Briggs 3-0

Motion: To Adjourn. Martin/Briggs 2-0

There being no further business before the Board, the next Action Session will take place on July 2, 2020 at 8:00 a.m.

Attest: Affirm:

_______________________________________ ____________________________________
Tammy Vopat                                                          Rollie Martin, Chairman
Lyon County Master Clerk                                      Lyon County Commission